Oregon Bankers Association Presents Gary Propheter with Presidential Award

SALEM, Ore., July 29, 2013 – The Oregon Bankers Association (OBA) presented Gary Propheter, executive vice president and chief operations officer of Bank of Eastern Oregon and chair of the OBA Government Relations Committee, with the 2013 OBA Presidential Award during its Annual Convention held in Sunriver, Oregon earlier this month.  The OBA Presidential Award recognizes a committee chair who has gone above and beyond during his or her two-year term.

OBA committees play a key role in the OBA and are a valuable member forum for peer networking, education and legislative review.  OBA committees are chaired by volunteer bankers who provide leadership, serve as a valuable resource to the OBA, and are at times called upon to meet with or testify before the legislature.

In his role as chair of the OBA Government Relations Committee, Propheter focused his efforts on grassroots advocacy.  He provided leadership in formalizing OBA’s grassroots initiative to connect every Oregon legislator with at least one banker contact.  These “contact bankers” are now responsible for quarterly outreach and communication with their legislator.  The goal of this interaction is to further develop existing relationships and ensure that every legislator has a banker to whom they can turn with questions about banking issues. 

In commenting about the award, OBA President and CEO Linda Navarro stated, “Gary’s leadership of the OBA Government Relations Committee and his commitment to advocacy on behalf of Oregon’s banking community has been commendable.  We are grateful for his leadership and service, which has helped make OBA a more effective voice for Oregon banking.”


Gary Propheter, Bank of Eastern Oregon, accepting the OBA Presidential Award
from OBA President and CEO Linda Navarro during the OBA’s annual convention in July.

The OBA also wishes to thank the following bankers for their two years of service as OBA committee chairs:

Agriculture  Committee
Donn O. Wiley, SVP & Team Leader - Commercial Lending
Heritage Bank, Portland, OR

Audit Committee
Laurena Whitwer, VP & Director of Internal Audit
Pacific Continental Bank, Eugene, OR

Bank Accounting Roundtable
Janet Dezellem, VP & Controller
Bank of Eastern Oregon, Heppner, OR

Bank Operations Committee
Ranee McDougal, VP & Senior Operations Officer
Citizens Bank, Corvallis, OR

Community Involvement Committee
Scott Reich, CRA & Fair Lending Manager
Umpqua Bank, Bend, OR

Compliance Officers Committee
Pam Pliler, Senior Operations Officer
Summit Bank, Eugene, OR

Financial Institutions Security Task Force
Sandy Kalleck, Branch Operations Manager
Columbia Community Bank, Beaverton, OR

Financial Officers/Investment Committee
Carl Hultenberg, EVP & Chief Financial Officer
Siuslaw Bank, Florence, OR

Human Resources Committee
Mary Hipkiss, SVP & Director of Human Resources
Oregon Pacific Bank, Florence, OR

Lending Committee
Daniel McDowell, President & Chief Executive Officer
Willamette Community Bank, Albany, OR

Oregon BankPAC Trustees
Brad Webster, EVP & Chief Business Development Officer
Citizens Bank, Corvallis, OR

Technology Committee
Mark Sibbald, AVP & Network Administrator
Pacific Continental Bank, Eugene, OR

Trust Committee
Linda Thomas-Bush, VP & Senior Trust Officer
U.S. Bank, Eugene, OR

About The Oregon Bankers Association
Established in 1905, the Oregon Bankers Association is Oregon's only full-service trade association representing state and national commercial banks, thrifts and savings banks chartered to do business in Oregon.  More information is available at www.oregonbankers.com.

Past news releases can be viewed at www.oregonbankers.com/news/news_releases.